‘Slammed’ By Colleen Hoover 5/5

Slammed

Synopsis

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review

I have no idea why it took me so long to read this book. Friends of mine have been getting on at me to read this, saying ‘You will not be disappointed.’ However, I think that’s why I put it off for so long. What if I didn’t like it? And now I’m sat here, after reading what can now be described as one of my favorite books, wondering why I even bother to listen to myself.

When Layken (beautiful character name) arrives in her new town, in Michigan from Texas, she meets her neighbor Will. Of course there is chemistry, you just know that this is the guy she will fall for, and she does. Then her first day as a Senior, at her new school, she finds Will or ‘Mr Cooper’ is her teacher.

The book revolves around Slam Poetry (also known as performance poetry). It made this book really stand out for me. While reading the book and the poetry that is being performed in some scenes, I started to read the whole book as a poem. I don’t know if this is what Hoover intended (not all of it is written in the style of poetry). I think I just found the story so beautiful and the way Hoover exposes the characters reminds me of the art of poetry.

While through the struggles of this love story, with Will being Layken’s teacher, we also see her family struggles. How she copes and does not cope with certain aspects of life that fall into her path. Will not only becomes someone Layken is falling for, that she can’t have, but also her rock.  I think having him there to help her intensifies my love for them to become a couple and wishing that it could work out, if it wasn’t for him needing his job and her finishing her Senior year.

I can’t wait to read ‘Point Of Retreat’, the next book in this series, to see where their relationship leads.

Buy ‘Slammed’ for ebook here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Slammed-ebook/dp/B008VDJFFY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1376857353&sr=1-1&keywords=slammed

One thought on “‘Slammed’ By Colleen Hoover 5/5

  1. Pingback: Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover | LeAnn's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

