‘When It Rains’ by Lisa De Jong 5/5

When It Rains FullJacket

Synopsis

One night changed my life forever.

Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it’s more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can’t.

I haven’t told anyone.

I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone.

Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn’t care who I used to be, he’s simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life.

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve been saved.

And I’ve found hope.

I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down…

Again.

Review

I genuinely believe that my heart broke while I was reading this book. ‘When It Rains@ is so beautifully written, that you can feel every emotion that Kate, the main character, feels. I feel like this book is about finding hope again, when you thought it was gone forever, and how one person can change your life. Two people in this case. One who destroys it and the other who rebuilds it.

After a terrible incident that happens to Kate, a happy, outgoing, high school girl, we are skipped on two years. This isn’t the same Kate anymore. She has pushed everyone out of her life. She doesn’t like to leave her house unless it’s for work or with her only friend Beau.

Beau and Kate have been neighbors since they were five and because of this they know everything about each other, except Kate hasn’t told him, or anyone, what happened to her two years ago and because of this it causes Kate to turn Beau down when he confesses his love for her just before he leaves for college. When he leaves Kate is left by herself with only her job, at a diner, to give her something to do…until Asher walks in. Asher is what Kate needs so that she can have hope again.

I kind of felt annoyed when Kate started to fall for Asher. Only because I wanted her to be with Beau. I think it was because the whole idea of next-door neighbor sweethearts. However, as the love between Kate and Asher grows I fall too.

Then we are hit with a twist I don’t think anyone could see coming. I will not spoil it for anyone as I think you will only capture the raw emotions I felt reading first hand.

‘When It Rains’ is now in my top 5 favorite books. I cannot honestly think of anything I disliked about this read. It’s one of those books that stays with you after you’ve turned the last page.

 

Buy on Amazon (Kindle) here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/When-It-Rains-Lisa-Jong-ebook/dp/B00FG9CI0K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1384119342&sr=8-1&keywords=when+it+rains+lisa+de+jong

Leave a Reply

